The Christmas of the Sick

1981. Toronto. I didn’t get to finish the gingerbread house I was making with my classmates.

Why? My entire family had been felled by the flu. All of us. It was a very vomitty Christmas.

My mom comes home from various trips with some illness or skin outbreak. Lately, my thing is to get sick on major holidays.

2011. Da Bronx. Our house looks more like an infirmary than a home with tissue boxes and endless cups of tea everywhere. It was a very phlegmy Christmas.

Chris’ parents had been sick the week before. Then Chris started to complain of a sore throat. By Christmas Eve, he was not feeling any better, so off we went to the ER.

The doctor asked him if he was experiencing any hoarseness of the voice. Considering he sounded like Pablo Francisco/Don LaFontaine (he does a lot of the movie trailer narrations), the look on his face was incredulous: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9pAv-z2ens

I was felled on Christmas Eve night. I felt like a ton of bricks hit me. I don’t really remember Christmas Day. I think I slept a lot, drank a lot of tea and watched back to back episodes of Mad Men. I think I slept for a lot of Monday too.

Yesterday I realized I’d had enough of this being sick business and went to my doctor. It is the oddest thing, but whenever I actually need to see my actual doctor for an illness I always get the partner in her practice. Which is fine. Cuz at least I’m being seen.

No. I don’t have strep. But I do have a very nasty sinus infection. What’s interesting about this particular infection is that a lot of the congestion I have is draining. Somewhere. On occasion I feel it in my nose and it does not want to come out. I’m on a course of antibiotics.

But I’m really sick of being sick. And I’m sick of tea.

I hope everyone has a happy and healthy New Year!

About Em-O-Lee

What's to know, really? I am here. People like me, love me and hate me. And that's all there is to it. If you found me, it's because you kno
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

